Home | People | The Council

The Council Home | People | The Council

The members of the Council are elected at each Congress according to the rules as set out in the Constitution. The Council consists of the current Chairman (elected by Council), Vice-Chairman and Vice-Chairman-Designate, the immediate Past Chairman, the Presidents (i.e. Chairs of Organizing Committees) of the last five Congresses, Chairmen of Commissions established by Council and eight other Members who are elected by the Council from a list of those nominated. Any member of Council or the International Advisory Committee may nominate a person for one of these positions (cf. the Constitution for the nomination procedure). The Council meets formally at each Congress and also at the venue of the forthcoming Congress the year before the Congress takes place. This means that in the case of a 2 year gap between Congresses the Council would meet annually.

The current members of the Council are :

Cyril O’Connor (Chairman)
Valentin Chanturiya (Vice-Chairman)
David Deglon (Vice-Chairman Designate)
Eric Forssberg (Immediate Past Chairman of Council)


Presidents of last 5 Congresses :

Jim Finch Quebec City 2016
Juan Yianatos Santiago 2014
Pradip New Delhi 2012
Robin Batterham Brisbane 2010
Wang Dianzou Beijing 2008


Chairs:   IMPC Commissions

Diana Drinkwater IMPC Commission on Education
Rod Elvish IMPC Commission on Mineral Processing
Kari Heiskanen IMPC Commission on Sustainability
John Herbst IMPC Commission on Industry/Academic Research


Elected members of Council for the period from the XXVII IMPC until the XIX IMPC in Moscow (2018)

Cyril O’Connor
Vladko Panayotov
Brij Moudgil

Elected members of Council for the period from the XXVII IMPC until the XXX IMPC in Cape Town (2020)

Jan Cilliers
Guven Onal
Ralph Holmes
Zhenghe Xu