Home | Lifetime Achievement Award | Lifetime Achievement Award: Recipients

Lifetime Achievement Award: Recipients Home | Lifetime Achievement Award | Lifetime Achievement Award: Recipients

The Lifetime Achievement Award was awarded to Professor Jan Miller.  Unfortunately, he could not attend the Congress but he was able to receive the trophy at his home in USA.
LAA__JD Miller
 Lifetime Achievements Awards were awarded to
Professor Graeme Jameson from Australia
Professor Ponisseril Somasundaran from USA
Profs. Somasundaran & Jameson with Quebec IMPC Chairman Prof Jim Finch

courtesy B Wills

Professor Graeme Jameson   is the recipient of many major awards, most recently the Australian Prime Minister’s Prize for Science.

In 2013 he was awarded the SME’s prestigious Antoine Gaudin Award in Denver. In 2005 he was recognised in the Australian Queen’s Birthday honours list, being made Officer of the Order of Australia, “for service to engineering, science, industry and the environment as an inventor and through contributions in the fields of fluid and particle mechanics, mineral processing, water and wastewater treatment and particle technology.” In the same year he was made Laureate Professor of the University of Newcastle, Australia, recognising his many contributions to research and his international standing in the field. He was the first person to receive the award, which is reserved only for a small number of outstanding researchers. He remains the Director of the Centre for Multiphase Processes in the University. Other accolades include the CSIRO Medal and being recognised as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Sciences, the Royal Academy of Engineering in the UK and the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences.
Professor Jameson’s contribution to the Australian economy and the environment as the inventor of what is considered by many to be the nation’s biggest export earner in the last 30 years, has earned him gold status within the minerals industry. With well over 300 Jameson Cells now in operation across 25 countries, the Cell is being used for copper, coal, zinc, nickel, lead, silver and platinum extraction world-wide. In the true mark of a scientist, 30 years on from his initial breakthrough discovery, He is still fine-tuning and improving the Jameson Cell and his research continues to push the boundaries. Currently he is working on a Fluidised Bed Flotation Cell that has the potential to make massive reductions in the energy used in the minerals industry.
Professor Somasundaran received his M.S. and Ph.D. from the University of California at Berkeley and his Bachelor of Engineering from the Indian Institute of Science in 1961. He was appointed the first La von Duddleson Krumb Professor in the Columbia University School of Engineering and Applied Science, and the first Director of the Langmuir Center for Colloids & Interfaces and founding director of the National Science Foundation Industry/University Cooperative Center for Advanced Studies in Novel Surfactants. He was also elected Chairman of the Henry Krumb School at Columbia University, as Chair of Dept. of Chemical Engineering, Material Science & Mineral Engineering in 1992 and 1995.
In l985  he was inducted into the National Academy of Engineering, among the highest professional distinctions that can be conferred to an engineer and later to the Chinese, Indian and Russian National Academies. He is the recipient of the Antoine M. Gaudin Award (1982), the Robert H. Richards Award (l987), the Arthur F. Taggart Award for best paper (1987) of AIME, “Most Distinguished Achievement in Engineering” award from AINA among others. In addition, he was awarded the Ellis Island Medal of Honor in 1990, along with such recipients as President George Bush, four former Presidents, U.N. Ambassador Thomas Pickering and Danny Thomas, the Leadership citation from the New Jersey Senate in 1991 and the Engineering Foundation’s 1992 Frank F. Aplan Award.
He is the honorary editor-in-chief of the international journal Colloids and Surfaces. His research interests are surface and colloid chemistry of minerals, materials and microbes, molecular interactions at surfaces using advanced spectroscopy, polymer and surfactant adsorption, flocculation/dispersion, biosurface phenomena, environmental engineering (waste treatment), enhanced recovery of oil and coal cleaning.
History of the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Since the occasion of the XIX IMPC in San Francisco 1995, IMPC has honoured an eminent personality with a Lifetime Achievement Award at each Congress.

The recipients to date are:

1995 San Francisco Douglas Fuerstenau
1997 Aachen Klaus Schoenert†
2000 Rome Jean Maurice Cases
2003 Cape Town Peter King†
2006 Istanbul Heinrich Schubert
2008 Beijing Janusz Laskowski
2010 Brisbane Alban Lynch
Wang Dianzuo
New Delhi
Quebec City
PC Kapur
Roe-Hoan Yoon
Graeme Jameson
Ponisseril Somasundaran
Jan Miller


Page 1 out of 1